No... You CANNOT stack Draw 2 and Draw 4 cards, UNO confirms
People love to create their own rules for how to play UNO. There's drinking versions; different versions depending on which area of the country you are playing; cultural versions and even a stripping version similar to strip poker (call me when you get ready to set up a game!). I'm not sure anyone has ever read the actual rules of the game, you know, the folded up piece of paper that comes with the deck of cards. One of the more popular allowances amongst all UNO players is the ability to stack 'face' cards. This is most often referred to as "Cut Throat."
Lets say you have a hand with 2 Draw 4's and 2 Draw 2's. One of your opponents is down to their last card. They holler out "UNO!" and then your turn comes around. You don't have that color or number, so in an effort to keep them in the game longer and lower the number of cards in your hand, you decide to unleash the UNO demon inside of you by laying down all 2 of your Draw 4's and Draw 2's then very nicely announce the next color.
Assuming the player who excitingly yelled out UNO is the next player, that person will have to draw 12 cards. UNO no more!! Well, the card game company issued a post on Twitter yesterday confirming that the move has in fact been illegal all along and that the company knows you’ve been trying to pull it off sneakily. Apparently, if a player puts down a +4 card, the next player must simply draw four cards and skip their turn. No stacking allowed.
Because stacking cards is a commonly used strategy, it was to no surprise that the Internet didn’t take the official clarification well. Many users went online to comment and tweet about it, resulting in some pretty hilarious tweets. Check out the internet’s reactions below in a list of tweets we’ve compiled.
While house rules apply, we are still not exactly sure if stacking of Draw 4 to Draw 4 and Draw 2 to Draw 2 is allowed.
Anyone up for a game of UNO?